![]() |
|
Welcome to the DegreeInfo Distance Learning - online degree forum, the oldest and largest distance and online learning community on the Web. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
St Clements University (uk)
Does any one heard of this university ?
I tried searching in several UK education websites but cannot find any information.
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
But you knew enough to post in this section, right?
Worthless WAUC "accreditation." Easily found via a web search. Were you looking for something in particular? |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
It is not a university, it is merely a business posing as one, blah, blah, blah. As Dennis said, do you have a question about it? (I, too, am always skeptical of such things.)
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Dear Rupert_q:
Good : One may rest assured that with Dr. David Le Cornu as the university president, there would always be enough booze for the graduation parties. Not Good 1: Accredited by WAUC Not Good 2 : However, the same Dr. David Le Cornu is also the Vice President of the WAUC, which accredits the very same university - see http://www.web-hed.com/wauc/credentials.htm Not Good 3 :They call themselves a "UK Dependency University" - this is incorrect and misleading - they are a company incorporated under the (in this case independently standing) law of TCI and not a UK (or UK Dependency) law - see http://www.education88.com/stclements/home.htm. The best thing they could do is call themselves "international" (see Warnborough University - http://www.warnborough.edu/general/about.htm) and should never associate their entity with the United Kingdom. adelheid
|
|
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
10q to those who have replied.
I raised this issue because a friend of mine had recently graduated with the a degree from this "university" and I was thinking of pursuing a first degree from them. I am currently deciding to do a first degree in business or business and IT / computing via distance learning. Later , I would wish to continue to a master's degree , also via distance learning. Since I live in outside of USA and Europe, and I cannot afford to go to USA or Europe for my further studies, I decided to choose the distance learning mode. BTW, I live in Malaysia in Asia. Also, I see a lot of these "universities" advertising heavily (thorough their local agents) in the newspapers in my country. They promise credits would be given based on work experince , life experience and whatever type of experience. Just yesterday, I saw a few more advertisements about the following : 1. Washington International University based in PA (the full address was just like that) - is that Pennsylvania ? 2. Southern California University for Processional Studies 3. Southern Central University Are all these suspicious too ? Please advise. |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rupert - Your profile doesn't list your location but since you stated in your original posting that you were looking at UK schools I figured I'd post this link to recognized UK degree programs (courtesy of Kristin, I believe).
http://www.dfes.gov.uk/recognisedukdegrees/wcoukd.shtml Good luck, Jack |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Cheers,
__________________
[url=http://www.tomhead.net]Tom Head[/url] B.A. (Liberal Arts) '96 / Excelsior College (USNY/Regents) M.A. (Humanities) '00 / California State University, Dominguez Hills Ph.D. student (Philosophy of Religion/Interdisciplinary Studies) / Edith Cowan University, Australia |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
From "Bear's Guide to Earning Degrees by Distance Education" 14th Edition (available from www.Amazon.com) 1. In the chapter covering unaccredited schools. I will summarize from the book some amusing paragraphs that mean to me don't consider this one. 2. unaccredited, declared a diploma mill by the Thai government 3. not listed in the book which means to me that it is very possibly a degree mill that is newer than Bear's Guide 14th Edition, 2001 St Clements University - unaccredited, the website is (at least was at one time) registered to Earls Tavern, a bar in Austraila, claims bogus accreditation from WAUC. I think your friend got taken. I would strongly encourage you to find a fully accredited school and to warn you to not be tricked by the promise of easy life experience credit or you could end up with a diploma that is worth no more than if you printed it up yourself. P.S. Bear's Guide also lists great schools. Good luck |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Curious on Washington International University. The claim to have legal authority based on thir location in the BR. Virgin Islands, and be incorporated in SD. What's the PA connection?
Also, the name is very close to Washington University.
|
|
|
|
Sponsored links
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: Based in PA???
Quote:
|
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: Based in PA???
Quote:
Regarding the name, IIRC, they were once called Washington University but changed their name because of the threat of a lawsuit from the real Washington University. You see another common trick used by many less than wonderful schools is to choose names to try to confuse themselves in the minds of people with a real school. I believe that I called them once and said I wanted to verify a degree. They asked how long ago I'd sent the check in. It took a while to get them to understand that I wanted to verify that someone claiming a degree from there had actually gotten a diploma from there. |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: Based in PA???
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Kristin Evenson Hirst |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Bill Huffman wrote:
> St Clements University - unaccredited, the website is (at > least was at one time) registered to Earls Tavern, a bar in > Austraila, Would that be the Earl's Tavern depicted here? http://www.needapub.com/pubs/adelaide-city/earls.html |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
HIC - Can´t remember. HIC |
|
|
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's a nice history page, but unfortunately Earls Tavern is no more. From memory (I walked past last week), it is now a restaurant of some sort. The funny thing I have always laughed about is that, about 5 shops up, is the Education Department building. Earls Tavern used to be the local watering hole for Education Department employees, and I used to joke that one could earn an honourary St Clements PhD if you managed to skull 15 schooners of beer.
Cheers, George
__________________
Dr George Brown http://www.higheredconsulting.com.au |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|